Search the Web

Contact us

Want a Map



Welcome to the




 (Formerly known as Torrisholme Church of the Ascension Rambling Club) 

 The purpose of the Club is to promote fellwalking and a love and respect for the countryside.

We walk every alternate Saturday.

New Members are always welcome - please e-mail the Club Secretary for details:


Our next walks from the Summer Programme 2015:

Saturday 16th May 2015




Our next walks from the summer programme will be on a half day, finishing at Clitheroe on Saturday 16th May 2015.   
The ‘A’ walk will be led by Brian Townson starts from Chipping, walking along roads and through fields to reach Fell Foot. A steep ascent to the top of Parlick gives good views all round. The path then follows a boundary wall over moorland passing Blindhurst Fell with a slight diversion to the top of Fairsnape. The walk then crosses Wolf Fell to Saddle Fell descending to Saddle End Farm and across fields to the road past the chair factory finishing back in Chipping. 8 miles and 1600ft of ascent. 
The "B" walk will be led by John and Linda Mountford starting from Chipping and is a circular walk following the old ‘Leagram deer park boundary’. The route is a gradual rise for the first 2 miles with good views of the Forest of Bowland passing over Dobson’s Brook to Windy Hills farmhouse and onto the base of Saltire Hill. From here we descend to Stanley Moor and Lickhurst Farm. We then continue, passing Knott Hill lime kiln before turning to Greenlands Farm. From here the path leads to Gibbon Bridge where we pass through the hotel grounds to Pale Farm, leaving the deer park boundary for the final short leg to Chipping village. 7 miles with a total ascent of 610 ft. 
The ’C’ walk will be led Jenny Hebblethwaite and is a circular starting from the centre of Chipping and taking the Longridge Road to cross an old stone arched bridge to walk through fields to Pale Farm. We then join a surfaced track towards the Gibbon Bridge Hotel then through fields to Greenlands Farm and woodland to Dairy Barn before returning to Chipping via road and a bluebell wood. 4 miles, 6-7 stiles. 

Non-walkers are always welcome to book on the coach if there are spaces.   


 PICKUP TIME: 12 noon from Torrisholme Church of the Ascension, Torrisholme.

(Pickups commence from Heysham Towers at 11.45am) 

Guests and new members are always  welcome and can book by contacting Colette Follett (text or phone) on 07837273707

You may download a copy of the Summer Programme from this website - just click on "Summer Programme 2015" on the left sidebar on this page and select Print from the File Menu.

Leaders who would like help with planning their walk etc, please contact either the Map Secretary Alan Whittaker or the Hon Secretary Linda Mills. We have a large selection of maps and books containing walks in all the areas which cover the Winter Programme. A list is available from the Secretary.

Chairlady: Nadine Kelly
Vice Chairlady: Colette Follett
Secretary: Linda Mills
Treasurer: Linda Mountford
Map Secretary: Alan Whittaker 
Coach Bookings Secretary:
Colette Follett
General Committee:
Elsie Dowthwaite, Graham Dyson, Sylvia Dyson, Tom Hodgson, Norma Nicholls, Brian Townson. 
Walks Committee:
Elsie Dowthwaite, Graham Dyson, Jenny Hebblethwaite, Tom Hodgson, Norma Nicholls, Brian Townson, Alan Whittaker





3rd- 10th October 2015

 We are planning to go on a 7 night walking holiday to Majorca as part of our 50th Anniversary Celebrations.

Accommodation is in the Puerto Azul Apartments at Puerto Pollensa at a cost of £492pp, based on 2 people sharing.  Due to the closure of Blackpool airport, departure is now from Manchester.

Please note that bookings for Majorca are now closed.  We have 24 people booked. 

Please contact the Secretary on 01524 771177 for any other information.


13th- 17th April 2015

What a brilliant holiday we had in Torquay.  The weather was warm and sunny, and Torquay is a lovely place with lots for everyone to do whether walking or not.  The hotel and food were very good and our meal on the way home at the Toby Carvery was excellent. 

Your Committee are now meeting to discuss next year's walking holiday, so watch this space ...



held in
the Lounge of the Church of the Ascension,
Michaelson Ave, Torrisholme, Morecambe
Friends, Guests & Non-Members welcome

Our Winter Social Programme is now finished and will commence in September:

The following events have been arranged for the summer social programme:

13-17 Apl - Mon-Fri - Walking holiday to Torquay, Devon

10th Jun Wed - Fish & Chip Cruise - £18pp.  Places must be booked.

15th Jul Wed - Treasure Trail

11th Aug Tue - Evening Saunter

25th Sep Fri   - 50th Celebratory Ceilidh and Hotpot Supper at the Jubilee Club

3-10 Oct        - Holiday to Puerto Pollensa in Majorca 

At the AGM on Wednesday 25th February, it was voted unanimously to change the name of the Club to "Torrisholme Rambling Club".  It was also voted unanimously to elect Derek Wood as President of the Club and dispense with the position of Vice President.
This was after notifying Club Members and consultations with the Vicar (former President) and Derek Wood (former Vice President). 




Website produced and updated by Linda Mills
Last update: 15th April 2015

Visitors to this website: 25825

Link to John Harris's Walking in Lancs webpage: